Today’s edition of the Japanese paper The Daily Yomiuri – Whalers release video from clash at sea – Michael Smith News

Today’s edition of the Japanese paper The Daily Yomiuri – Whalers release video from clash at sea – Michael Smith News.

I wondered when someone would get on to this.

Firstly, let me say very clearly that I’m 100% against whaling, by anyone for any reason.

But I’m also 100% against piracy and I have for a long time held the view that Paul Watson sees himself more as a buccaneer than a saviour.

The question I’ve asked myself over and over since the “ramming” incident is this:

What the hell is Sea Shepherd doing maneuvering a vessel BETWEEN two other larger vessels that were undertaking a refuelling operation?

Refuelling operations by necessity require the two vessels involved to be close to each other. They generally run parallel courses, and have little opportunity to deviate otherwise one of two things will happen. They’ll either collide or the fuel lines will be severed or disconnected.

Running another vessel between them is a clear act of aggression (and stupidity).

If the Sea Shepherd vessels were damaged or sunk, there’s no-one to blame but themselves.

Pity our mainstream media just parrot the press release and grandstanding of Sea Shepherd.

By the way, I’d pretty much guarantee that by doing what they did, Sea Shepherd were once again in breach of maritime law. Maybe one of our learned friends here can advise?

 

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in MichealSmithNews. Bookmark the permalink.