“You must be very proud” – Michael Smith News

Sorry, another old post which got lost in drafts.

“You must be very proud” – Michael Smith News.

Whilst the joke of itself was no big deal in my view, I do think that the derision being expressed is a direct result of the frustration and anger people feel about being conned by the PM. Her misogyny speech was a con, these new anti discrimination laws are a con, the promises she has made to the voters as well as to people like Wilkie were a con. And in the absence of any real scrutiny by the MSM, you can forgive a little payback when the PM is hoist on her own petard ( a phrase I only learnt from reading some bloggers comments and which I now bandy about to annoy labor sympath users).

The comment, if said tongue in cheek, among a group of blokes , might have been acceptable and funny in the days before PC.
Gillard drew a line in the sand with her misogynist rant so now has to wear the consequences. You reap what you sow.

Posted by: Barney R | Tuesday, 29 January 2013 at 10:24 AM

Watch the look on Gillard’s face at the time Tim lets fly. She instantly realises that Tim has just let the proverbial hit the fan on national TV.

If you missed the look on her face, watch this footage again, this time keep your eye on her face http://www.abc.net.au/lateline/content/2013/s3678150.htm

Posted by: Murphie | Tuesday, 29 January 2013 at 10:25 AM

This whole situation is the gift that keeps giving!

I never seem to catch any of these items until after I have read them or heard about them but last night I was watching Lateline whilst nodding off and heard them mention something about Tim Mathieson telling an offensive joke. I sat up and watched and listened with interest and when they played the video, I was shocked at his appearance – he was perspiring profusely. As this was one of the few time that I had heard him speak I paid close attention to what he had to say. The look on the PM’s face said it all!

I have to admit that I wasn’t offended by his remarks but when you reverse the situation and put Tony Abbott in his place it would be called out as sexism, racism and anything else that could be claimed. I was very surprised that it was shown on the ABC though.

Is this still Australia or have we crossed over into some parallel universe? I hope we can get our nation back to the wonderful place it was before this inept party took control.

Posted by: Lucille Astic | Tuesday, 29 January 2013 at 12:10 PM

Sounds like Roxon’s new draconian anti-discrimination laws have come back to bite Gillard and the ‘first joke’.

Posted by: Jollybagman | Tuesday, 29 January 2013 at 12:30 PM

“Tims doing great work for Mens Shed” says Gillard. What a load of crap, I am not a member but do talk to my local mens shed friends, the handbag joke is very popular. If Timmy wen’t out and joined the volunteer firefighters, the CES, or even if he turned up to fill sandbags in the terrible flood areas he would get a gong from me. Heaven knows man, given that you can’t lay on the sofa and watch Gillard in question time at present you certainly have the time on your hands. Oooops, To late now Timmy boy, anything you do now will be seen to be reactionary and only for the cameras. I agree with the majority of comments posted here about the “joke” I reckon 20 years ago the majority of us would have hada laugh. Most of you know from my video interviews with Michael, I tend to sweat easily these days. My condition has been diagnosed as Chronic anxiety an a post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Now most of you would be aware of the circumstances that led to my condition. Now I am not a doctor but I think Timmy should see a shrink before he is turfed out along with the other baggage that currently occupy the Lodge. The pressure and humilation that is waiting for you and your partner this year must be a worry to you, especially the thought of loosing your taxpayer funded superannuation and other perks. One last point to think about, if your partner is charged and found guilty of any offence I and thousands of my friends will fight tooth and nail to ensure that all accumulated taxpayer funded “entitlements” will be recovered and returned to consolidated revenue to distribute to future natural disaster zones, floods/bushfires etc. And that Timmy is how it should be. If you ever need to talk to someone with anxiety, stress issues please free to contact me for a chat. Bob Kernohan

Posted by: bob kernohan | Tuesday, 29 January 2013 at 01:10 PM

So is that the deal now? One can say anything at all that’s racist, sexism and then excuse oneself with “it was just a joke”? Just checking. Good to know.

Posted by: Brad | Tuesday, 29 January 2013 at 03:42 PM

Michael,

One Gillard self servicing duplicitous “misogyny” speech wasted.
Tony Abbott vindicated.

My how the tide has turned.

Posted by: Eleni | Tuesday, 29 January 2013 at 04:17 PM

 

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Other stuff. Bookmark the permalink.