What Gavin Forgot To Tell You | NOT A LOT OF PEOPLE KNOW THAT

What Gavin Forgot To Tell You | NOT A LOT OF PEOPLE KNOW THAT.

News reports in Australia have just said that it was Australia’s hottest year … I do not like hot weather and having lived through it I don’t believe it was the hottest in my area in the last ten years … forget about forever!

In addition, the temperature recording stations used around the world don’t cover the whole world. Antarctica is not covered at all, or a large proportion of Russia and the African continent. Parts of Australia miss out too. Check out the map.

The temperature change since 1997 is less than .05 degrees … in a world where on any given day there could be 50 whole degrees difference between the hottest and coldest spots … that is, if the temperature was recorded at the hottest and coldest spots. We don’t really know where the hottest and coldest spots are, only the hottest and coldest spots where there are thermometers.

I cannot believe that tiny increments of temperature change recorded over a couple of centuries with thermometers of varying quality covering barely half the world’s surface have made a huge difference to the world at large when the difference between a shady spot and a sunny spot in a garden can vary about 5 degrees on a hot day.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Not a Lot of People Know That. Bookmark the permalink.